California was ranked among the top 6 states for traffic safety laws according to a recent study performed by the Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety. What laws are in place that protect California residents? Are there any laws that could be added to increase safety further? How many fatalities occur on California roads despite these laws? Read on to learn the answers.
California State Laws that Protect Drivers
California lawmakers have adopted numerous laws to show that safety is important in the state. For example, seat belts are required for all drivers and passengers, including those in the back seat of the vehicle. Motorcycle riders are required to wear helmets. Infants and toddlers must be in a rear-facing seat at least through age 2, and there is a booster seat law in place. Other important laws include a ban on open alcoholic containers in the vehicle as well as a ban on texting and driving.
Other Laws Suggested in the Report
Of course, there are still states that have stricter laws when it comes to certain habits, and the report listed some that could be of benefit in California. For example, while texting and driving is banned, many states have a law against all hand-held devices. This would further reduce distractions for drivers. California also does not yet require ignition locks for all offenders of impaired driving laws.
If You Have Been Injured on California Roads
While no system of driving laws is perfect, one of the most highly trafficked states has been able to keep the 10-year fatality statistic at 31,750. Of course, many more are injured in accidents. It is estimated that accidents cost the state nearly $20 billion per year. If you have been injured in an automotive accident, seek the compensation you are owed by calling 619-344-0360. The personal injury lawyers at Petrov Law Firm will be happy to assist you.Read More
The CDC used 2013 figures to illustrate just how much fatal car accidents cost California residents every year. We’re not talking about the emotional toll that these deaths take on families. These numbers strictly represent the financial toll. The figures may prove shocking to you.
- $38 Million – This represents the medical costs left behind by patients who died in car accidents in the state of California in 2013 alone.
- $4.44 Billion – This staggering number is the amount of work loss costs incurred by these accidental deaths. Take, for example, the husband, father, and businessman who doesn’t make it home from work one evening. His family has lost perhaps decades of his income.
Of course, there is no way to calculate the impact of such tragedies in mere numbers. That’s why wrongful death plaintiffs often receive more than just medical compensation and compensation for loss of future income. Pain and suffering, as well as emotional losses, also need to be considered, and that can lead to settlements that provide well for a family during the long time of emotional healing that needs to take place following such a catastrophe.
Compassionate Lawyers for Your Wrongful Death Case in California
Petrov Law Firm has the compassionate lawyers that you want on your side during a wrongful death suit. Please remember though that time is of the essence when you have a case like this. As a result, we encourage you not to delay in calling our San Diego office at 619-344-0360.Read More
When a car accident occurs, the priority is to care for the injured. Then it is time to assign blame. This can determine if someone gets ticketed, whose insurance is responsible for the bill, and even if a lawsuit will occur. Here are five reckless things that people do behind the wheel that lead to accidents.
- Alcohol – Don’t drink and drive is a slogan even children know by heart, but that doesn’t stop people from getting behind the wheel after they’ve had a few.
- Speeding – This is what is behind just about every accident on the road. Even if there are also other factors like poor road conditions or being distracted, many accidents could still be avoided if people just obeyed the speed limit.
- Smartphones – Texting while driving is illegal in almost every state (get with the program Arizona, Missouri, and Montana), but really any smartphone use is going to distract a driver. In California, any handheld use of a smartphone is banned while driving.
- Distractions – Besides just smartphones, there are a lot of other things people do while driving that distracts them. Everything from eating and drinking to smoking and applying makeup can lead to a motor vehicle accident.
- Red Lights – Red means stop. It doesn’t get any clearer. Whether a person is distracted, driving too fast, or trying to “squeeze the lemon” on a yellow light that is long gone, running a red light can turn into a serious accident in a hurry.
If You Have Been Injured in a Car Accident in California
If you have been injured in a car accident in California, the personal injury attorneys at Petrov Law Firm can help you to receive the proper compensation for your losses. Before you sign anything from an insurance company accepting a settlement, give us a call at 619-344-0360. We can help you to maximize your settlement and avoid being cheated by a lowball insurance settlement.Read More
Car accidents are one of the most common causes of personal injury in the state of California. We’re going to take a closer look at three of the most common causes of car accidents so that you have the best chance of protecting yourself and your loved ones.
- Alcohol – Drunk driving is not only related to accidents involving injuries, but it is particularly associated with auto accident fatalities. The smart move is to call a taxi, Uber, or just let a friend be a designated driver, especially around the holidays when the frequency of drunk driving accidents spikes.
- Speeding – Nearly all auto accidents go back to speeding. Whether the driver is distracted, drunk, or running a stop sign, the collision still usually has to do with speed. Always drive the speed limit, and give other drivers who are willing to break the law a wider berth when they try to pass.
- Hazardous weather conditions – From low visibility due to fog to rain and slippery wet roads, there are all sorts of weather conditions that make it more dangerous to be on the road. If you have to be out in the bad weather, be sure to use proper defensive driving techniques, and leave extra room between you and the vehicle in front of you.
If You Have Been Injured in an Auto Accident in California
If you or a loved one has suffered an injury in an auto accident in the state of California, the personal injurie attorneys at Petrov Law Firm can help you to receive a proper settlement rather than the ridiculous first offer that most insurance companies make. To learn more, call our San Diego office today at 619-344-0360.Read More
The state of California has heavy penalties in place for DUI offenders. These laws are in place to discourage drivers from getting behind the wheel while intoxicated. A drunk driver can destroy lives in an instant. Despite these penalties, many injuries are still sustained each year due to driving while intoxicated. Here is a list of some of the penalties in place in the state of California.
The minimum penalty for a first-time offender (assuming no one is hurt or killed) includes:
- $1,800 in fines and assessments
- 2 days in jail or 3 months with a restricted license (only driving back and forth to work or treatment is allowed)
- 3 to 9 months of mandatory treatment (depending on BAC) which costs about $500
- Loss of license for 30 days (the restricted license begins after this period)
These penalties quickly escalate for second and third-time offenders. However, if someone is hurt or dies as a result of the DUI, penalties may include a felony that will result in prison time. Depending on whether the person was a previous offender, the minimum sentence will be somewhere between one and five years.
If You or a Loved One Has Become the Victim of a Drunk Driver
If you have been hurt or have tragically lost a loved one due to someone driving under the influence, you deserve to be compensated for all of your losses. This can include lost future wages, medical costs, pain and suffering, and more. The compassionate lawyers at Petrov Law Firm can help you to handle these sensitive matters when you may not mentally be in a position to seek a reasonable settlement yourself. Let us help you start to put the pieces back together. In many wrongful death cases, we only get paid if we win for you. Just call 619-344-0360 for help in the state of California.Read More
With spring break in full tow, undoubtedly there is plenty of partying going on, especially from young folks reveling in their first semester accomplishments. It is during holidays and celebratory times such as these that we all must be more cautious and mindful when on the road. The chance of a run-in with an intoxicated driver is likely higher when there are more reasons to celebrate.
Drunk driving laws make it illegal nationwide to drive with a blood alcohol content at or above 0.08% for people of legal drinking age. There is also a no-tolerance law for drivers under 21, meaning there is no allowable level of BAC for this age group. Accurate BAC is determined with a blood test (analyzed at a lab) or breathalyzer administered by the onsite officer.
Incidents of drunken driving have decreased in the past few decades due to strict laws and higher awareness and education. The ease of access and availability of hired transport (such as taxi cabs, Uber, and Lyft) have also helped to lower the occurrences of intoxicated drivers on the road. However, accidents involving alcohol influence still do occur and are often injurious or fatal.
Should you or a loved one get involved in a vehicular accident involving alcohol, seek the advice and assistance of an experienced personal injury attorney immediately. Your injuries will likely require medical attention and you are entitled to have all your costs covered by the other party’s insurance. A personal injury lawyer will represent you if your case end up in the court of law, as is often the case with alcohol-related car accidents.Read More
If you were injured by a drunk driver, your losses will be reviewed by the criminal court throughout the course of the trial. However, with an over-burdened criminal system, you need your own attorney to ensure that the driver is held responsible for both your current and future losses.
Because your medical costs are easy to determine, those costs easily go into evidence. You will need your own attorney to fully calculate any future losses and submit those as part of the case.
Future losses typically include long-term lost wages due to injury and future medical costs. In all injury cases, these losses are first covered by the insurance policies (the driver’s policy, and perhaps, your policy). Then, any additional losses (those beyond the financial limits of the insurance policies) are covered by the driver’s assets such as savings and future earnings.
In drunk driving cases, there are generally more losses to cover – more injuries, more cars totaled, more property damaged. Your future losses need to be quickly and properly calculated by your attorney and entered into evidence as part of the case. If you wait, there might not be any money left when you try to claim a loss a year after the accident.
In addition, with a criminal case, the driver might be headed to jail. If the drunk driver is behind bars, there will be no future earnings you can levy to cover your losses. You need a personal injury attorney now to ensure you get your fair share of any settlement before there is nothing left.Read More
As we approach the upcoming Labor Day Holiday, we reference AAA’s recent study that projects a significant increase in highway traffic over the holiday weekend. AAA predicts more than 30+ million Americans will travel more than 50 miles away from home over the holiday.
This rise in auto traffic is determined to be at its highest since the recession. The study projects that the increase is due to both the economy and increasing costs for air travel.
The major factor this year is more people will be traveling by car rather than air. This increase in auto traffic can bring an increase in accidents, injuries, and deaths as more people are trying to get to their destinations.
Labor Day is considered by most Americans to be the final fun event before school begins. Unfortunately, there is a noted flux and increase in the number of drunk drivers and related accidents.
Approximately 300+ travelers lose their lives in accidents. Approximately 40% of wrongful death accidents will involve alcohol. On that note, we offer some helpful safety recommendations to help keep you and your family safe through the holiday weekend:
Abstain from using your cell phone when behind the wheel – leave your phone alone when driving.
Make sure all passengers in your vehicle are buckled up and children are in age-appropriate safety seats.
Children 12 and under should always be seated the back seat.
Allow plenty of travel time to avoid frustration and diminish any impulse to speed.
Always drive defensively, stay alert, and exercise caution, especially during bad weather.
Never drive when drowsy. Pull over to rest often as needed in order to drive safely.
Designate a non-drinking partner to drive when appropriate.
Keep in mind even moderate consumption of alcohol impairs reaction time and driving judgment.
We urge all drivers to stay alert, drive defensively, and stay safe.Read More