The state of California has heavy penalties in place for DUI offenders. These laws are in place to discourage drivers from getting behind the wheel while intoxicated. A drunk driver can destroy lives in an instant. Despite these penalties, many injuries are still sustained each year due to driving while intoxicated. Here is a list of some of the penalties in place in the state of California.
The minimum penalty for a first-time offender (assuming no one is hurt or killed) includes:
- $1,800 in fines and assessments
- 2 days in jail or 3 months with a restricted license (only driving back and forth to work or treatment is allowed)
- 3 to 9 months of mandatory treatment (depending on BAC) which costs about $500
- Loss of license for 30 days (the restricted license begins after this period)
These penalties quickly escalate for second and third-time offenders. However, if someone is hurt or dies as a result of the DUI, penalties may include a felony that will result in prison time. Depending on whether the person was a previous offender, the minimum sentence will be somewhere between one and five years.
If You or a Loved One Has Become the Victim of a Drunk Driver
If you have been hurt or have tragically lost a loved one due to someone driving under the influence, you deserve to be compensated for all of your losses. This can include lost future wages, medical costs, pain and suffering, and more. The compassionate lawyers at Petrov Law Firm can help you to handle these sensitive matters when you may not mentally be in a position to seek a reasonable settlement yourself. Let us help you start to put the pieces back together. In many wrongful death cases, we only get paid if we win for you. Just call 619-344-0360 for help in the state of California.Read More
If you are a parent, one of the most terrifying days of your life may be the day your son or daughter gets a driver’s license. It is a sad fact that the number one cause of death between the ages of 16 and 20 is being in a car accident. How can you protect your teen? Technology may be the key.
Modern Technology that Reduces Distractions
Some of the tech that is helping younger drivers today is designed to reduce the distractions that can lead to a motor vehicle accident. For example, smartphone use is one of the most dangerous things a person can get involved in while behind the wheel. But teens often lack the experience to see the importance of following California state guidelines in this regard.
Modern smartphones and cell phone companies provide tech that can block calls or texts while driving and send an automatic response to the person who sent the message or made the call. That completely removes the temptation of checking the phone and sends the message to friends that calls won’t go through until your kid reaches his or her destination.
Modern Technology that Produces Better Driving Habits
You can also enlist the help of your car insurance provider. Most insurance companies produce devices that can be attached to a vehicle to monitor driving and alter insurance rates based on how safe someone is. Gradually speeding up and slowing down rather than punching the gas when a light turns green and waiting until the last second to break will be rewarded monetarily. That is enough incentive for most young drivers.
If Your Teen Is Injured in an Accident
Not all accidents involving teens are the young person’s fault, but it can be tough to convince an insurance company. Petrov Law Firm has the experienced personal injury attorneys you want on your side to secure a fair settlement. To have your case reviewed, call 619-344-0360 today.Read More
When dealing with an aggressive or reckless driver, you may feel either concerned for your safety or angry and ready to respond in kind. Road rage has been in the news frequently in recent months, with some cases ending in tragedy. What we will do today is discuss 3 ways to deal with road rage and keep yourself safe.
- Do not make eye contact – You have to treat a driver with road rage like a wild animal. Eye contact may be considered a challenge. Instead, do what you can to keep an eye on the driver through mirrors, and allow aggressive drivers to pass and speed away.
- Do not tailgate – If a reckless driver gets ahead of you and then is forced to slow down by traffic, your first instinct may be to drive close as a protest to how you were treated. Reckless drivers are selfish and don’t care about your well-being. He or she may hit the brakes to cause you to rear-end the vehicle or may become angry and resort to further reckless behavior.
- Stay calm – If you were to begin yelling, shaking your fist, or worse, a person who is already experiencing road rage may completely fly off the handle and do something shocking. It is best just to allow an angry, selfish, violent person to have the right of way. You’re not doing it for them. You are doing it for yourself, your passengers, and other drivers who may pay the price later. Feel free to have someone in the car alert the authorities to your location and a description of the reckless driver’s vehicle.
If You Are Injured by a Reckless Driver
Reckless driving can result in accidents, injuries, and even fatalities. If your family has been struck with tragedy as the result of a reckless driver, contact the Petrov Law Firm. Our compassionate attorneys will help guide you through the process of seeing restitution. Call 619-344-0360 to get started today.Read More