Being a state with a population of over 39 million people, it’s no surprise that car crashes are so common in California, which has one of the highest rates of car accidents in the country. Even a relatively small city like Vista sees nearly 300 people affected by traffic accidents each year.
With that being said, understanding what to do after a car accident in Vista, CA, is essential. Contact the Vista car accident lawyers at Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers for help, by calling (619) 344-0360.
How Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help After An Accident In Vista, CA
Being in a car accident in Vista, California, can affect you psychologically, physically, and financially. When you turn to Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers, you have the chance of receiving compensation for each of those damages.
Since 2012, our Vista car accident lawyers have been guiding crash victims through the legal process. We understand how tough it can be to get the support you need to fight against insurance companies, and we’re here to help.
We provide the following to each of our clients:
- A free case evaluation
- Guidance in understanding your compensation options
- Negotiation assistance with insurance companies
- Representation in court
We’ve recovered $40 million for our clients over the years, helping them pay their medical and repair bills and handle all of the aspects of their lives that are affected by the crash. If you or a loved one have been seriously hurt in a recent car accident, do not hesitate to contact Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers today for a free consultation.
Steps To Take After a Car Accident in Vista, CA
The first thing you need to do after a car accident in Vista, California, is assess the situation and get to safety.
Take a moment, if possible, to determine whether any injuries are clearly evident or if you experience any other unseen pain, then get a sense of the condition of your car. If you can move, get a clear distance away from the car, but make sure not to leave the scene. Even if the accident is minor, leaving the scene can lead to criminal charges.
Call 911. If you have sustained any injuries, alert the authorities about them so that they can send emergency medical personnel to the scene. Be as detailed as possible about the state of passengers, other drivers, pedestrians, and anyone else involved.
If you have bruises, scrapes, or any other injuries, document them so that you can file a solid claim later. Once everyone is safe, you can start taking pictures of the car and document any other property damage. It’s also a good idea to write down what happened while the details are still fresh in your mind.
You also want to start exchanging information with the other drivers, but ensure that you do not speak about who was at fault or anything related to the accident. You will need the other driver’s personal information, license, and insurance policy. If there are witnesses, you’ll also want to get their contact information.
Reporting the Accident
Under California law, you only have to report a car accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles if damages of $1,000 or higher occurred or if the crash resulted in an injury or death. However, even if you’re not sure whether you’re required to report the accident, do so anyway. You must use California DMV Form SR1 and file it within ten days of the accident.
From there, reach out to a car accident lawyer in Vista, CA, as soon as possible. If you were injured or sustained property damage, having a lawyer by your side gives you the chance to seek compensation.
Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Trusted Vista Car Accident Lawyers
Being in a car accident is always stressful and oftentimes traumatic. If you have suffered from injuries or are dealing with property damage because of someone else’s misstep or carelessness, you have the right to seek compensation, and Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers will offer the guidance you need. Reach out to our Vista car accident attorneys by calling at(619) 344-0360. today to get started.