Vista Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer

Were you recently injured in a hit-and-run car accident in Vista, California? Are you struggling with painful injuries and skyrocketing financial stress? Contact Petrov Law Firm. You may have the right to recover compensation for your medical care, loss of income, and suffering. Our experienced Vista hit-and-run accident lawyers can help you fight to maximize your financial recovery.

At Petrov Law Firm, we’ve been leading advocates for Southern California crash victims since 2012. Our award-winning Vista trial attorneys have over 20 years of experience and have won $40 Million on behalf of clients just like you. 

Whether or not the hit-and-run driver is located, we’ll do everything in our power to make sure that you get the money you deserve. Contact our law office in Vista, CA, to learn more. Your first consultation is free, so call our team to schedule yours today at (760) 813-3313.

How Petrov Law Firm Can Help If You’ve Been Hurt in a Hit-and-Run Accident in Vista, CA

How Petrov Law Firm Can Help If You’ve Been Hurt in a Hit-and-Run Accident in Vista, CA

Getting compensation after a car accident can be difficult enough when everyone involved sticks around after the wreck. Things tend to get more complicated when an at-fault driver flees the scene to avoid taking responsibility for the damage they’ve done.

Fortunately, you don’t have to deal with the aftermath of your hit-and-run car accident on your own. Our car accident lawyers in Vista are here to help, and we have the resources, experience, and dedication you’ll need to get the results you deserve.

You take this opportunity to rest and recover from your car accident injuries while our team:

  • Conducts an independent investigation into your hit-and-run crash
  • Determines who, other than the hit and run driver, might be liable for your injuries
  • Gathers evidence that can be used to build and support a claim for damages
  • Identifies potential options for recovery within your own car insurance policy
  • Negotiates with insurance companies and other parties on your behalf

Our car accident attorneys in Vista will be fully prepared to take your case to trial if you aren’t offered a fair settlement. We’re ready to do everything in our power to set you up for the best possible outcome. 

Our law firm works on a contingency fee basis, so there’s no upfront cost to ask for our help. You only pay if we win your hit-and-run car accident case. 

Get in touch to learn more about our law firm and your legal rights. We offer a free initial case evaluation, so call today.

How Common Are Hit-and-Run Accidents in Vista?

California law requires anyone involved in an auto accident to:

  • Remain at the scene (or at a safe location nearby),
  • Check to see if anyone needs emergency medical treatment
  • Exchange registration and insurance information with other parties, and
  • Report the accident if it causes property damage, injury, or death.

Leaving the scene of an accident before these steps are taken is a violation of California state law and can lead to criminal hit-and-run charges.

Unfortunately, the threat of criminal charges isn’t always enough to keep motorists at the scene when they cause an accident. In 2019, there were 29 hit-and-run car accidents resulting in at least one injury or death in Vista, California.

That’s more than two hit-and-run traffic accidents in Vista every month.

Can I Recover Compensation If the Hit-and-Run Driver Isn’t Found?

It’s possible, yes.

Insurance will always be the primary source of compensation after a car accident in California. Since California has fault-based insurance rules, the at-fault party’s insurer generally covers the cost of an accident.

What happens if the hit-and-run driver isn’t identified or found, and you don’t know who their insurance company is?

You may be able to recover compensation from your own insurer in the form of uninsured motorist benefits. When you bought your car insurance policy, your insurance company was legally required to offer you uninsured motorist coverage (UMC). You could have declined this coverage but would have had to do so in writing.

If you opted to purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage and add it to your policy, then you can tap into those benefits after a crash with a hit-and-run driver.

Of course, your financial recovery will be limited to your uninsured motorist coverage limits. If you purchased $10,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury protection, then you’ll be able to recover up to $10,000 in damages.

What if My Uninsured Motorist Courage Doesn’t Cover the Full Costs of My Injuries?

If your UMC benefits only cover a portion of your crash-related damages, then you can pursue other avenues for financial recovery.

If someone else contributed to your accident, you can file a personal injury lawsuit against them or seek benefits from their insurance carrier.

Other potentially liable parties might include:

  • Drivers of other cars
  • Truck drivers
  • Motorcyclists
  • Bicyclists
  • Pedestrians
  • Employers of negligent parties
  • Property owners
  • Vehicle manufacturers
  • Government agencies

If the hit-and-run driver is located, you can sue them for damages and/or initiate a claim against their insurer.

What Damages Can I Get If I File a Lawsuit After a Hit-and-Run Accident in Vista?

After a motor vehicle accident involving a hit-and-run driver, you should be able to recover economic damages and non-economic damages.

Economic damages are paid to make up for the verifiable costs and expenses related to your hit-and-run crash.

Examples include:

  • Current medical expenses
  • Future medical bills
  • Property damage
  • Rental car payments
  • Lost wages
  • Disability
  • Nursing care
  • Out-of-pocket costs

Non-economic damages are awarded to compensate for the difficult-to-value trauma related to a hit-and-run crash.

Examples include:

  • Pain and suffering
  • Emotional distress
  • Loss of enjoyment of life
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Disfigurement
  • Embarrassment

If the hit-and-run driver is located, then you may also be able to recover punitive damages in a personal injury lawsuit. These are awarded in situations when a defendant’s actions are malicious, fraudulent, or oppressive.

Petrov Law Firm will actively pursue all of the damages available to you under California state law. As we work on your case, we’ll work closely with car accident experts and medical professionals. Their insight can help us more fully appreciate the extent of the trauma you’ve suffered and how your accident may affect you in the future. This information will help us to secure a financial recovery that really reflects what your hit-and-run car accident case is worth.

Is There a Time Limit For Filing a Lawsuit After a Hit-and-Run Car Accident in Vista, CA?

Generally, the statute of limitations for car accident lawsuits in California is two years. However, there are exceptions to this rule. One of those exceptions involves situations where the defendant leaves the state or can’t be located.

When this happens, the statute of limitations can be tolled. Tolling means that the clock ticking on your hit-and-run car accident case is paused. It only begins to run again once the hit-and-run driver can be located and served. 

The time limit to file a hit-and-run lawsuit can be difficult to pinpoint. The best way to protect your rights is by speaking with an experienced car accident attorney near you in Vista, CA. At Petrov Law Firm, we’re always available to take your call – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call so that we can help you assert your rights today.

Schedule a Free Consultation With an Experienced Vista Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer

Have you been injured in a hit-and-run car accident in Vista, California? Have you suffered the wrongful death of a loved one after a fatal hit-and-run crash? Petrov Law Firm understands how difficult the days, weeks, and months that follow a car accident like this can be. Let our Vista hit-and-run lawyers make things easier for you.

We’ll identify all of your legal options, work to find the hit and run driver, and do everything in our power to make sure that you’re financially secure after your crash. Whether that means exhausting your car insurance and UMC benefits, filing a lawsuit against another negligent party, or waiting to sue the hit-and-run driver personally, we’re ready to do what it takes to get you the money you deserve.

Contact our North County San Diego law office in Vista to arrange a time for a free, no-obligation case evaluation. We’re here to provide the guidance you need today.