Car accidents are confusing and terrifying events in Vista, California. You may be facing painful injuries and months of recovery. Meanwhile, you may be receiving a steady stream of medical bills while you are also losing money while you are off work. These events can be even more difficult when you discover that the at-fault party did not have insurance.
However, you do not have to go through the process of preparing your claim alone. The Vista uninsured motorist claims lawyers with Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers are here to help. Contact us today by calling (619) 344-0360 and arrange a free case review.
How Can Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers Help With My Vista Uninsured Motorist Claim?
If you are injured in a car accident when the at-fault driver does not have insurance in Vista, CA, the last thing you need is to feel alone during the claims process. Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers can help you with every aspect of your claim from the start to finish. We can investigate your claim, review applicable insurance policies, and explore all potential avenues of compensation.
Some of the reasons we are particularly qualified to help you with your claim are:
- We have recovered more than $40 million for our deserving clients.
- Daniel Petrov gives his personal cell phone number to clients so they can reach him whenever they need him.
- We speak Russian and Spanish so we can better serve the needs of our diverse clientele.
- For over a decade, we have fought to protect the rights of accident victims throughout Vista and the surrounding areas.
Contact us today to learn more about how we can help. Our Vista car accident lawyers are standing by.
What Are California’s Minimum Insurance Requirements?
In California, all motorists are required to maintain minimum liability insurance. Liability insurance covers the damages a driver causes to others. The minimum liability insurance requirements include:
- $15,000 for injury or death to one person
- $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
While these are the minimum requirements for liability insurance, you can purchase additional insurance.
Driving without insurance in California is illegal. If a person is caught driving without insurance, they can be charged a fine between $100 and $200, in addition to other state assessments and fees. If the driver is ticketed a subsequent time within three years for driving without insurance, the fine is increased to $200 to $500.
Options for Recovering Compensation in a Vista Uninsured Motorist Claim
Since you cannot rely on the at-fault party’s insurance to cover your damages, you will need to explore other options for compensation, which may include:
Collision insurance covers physical damage to your vehicle caused by contact with another vehicle or object, regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
Medical Payments Coverage
Medical payments coverage or MedPay covers medical expenses for you and your injured passengers. This provides coverage no matter who is at fault. The minimum coverage is $1,000 per injured person.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage (UMC) provides coverage if you are in an accident with a driver who does not have any liability insurance. Insurance companies in California must offer you this coverage. To refuse it, you must sign a waiver to this effect. Uninsured motorist coverage may include:
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) – Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays for injuries to you and anyone in your vehicle in an accident with an at-fault, uninsured driver. The limits are the same as your liability limits.
- Uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) – Uninsured motorist property damage pays for physical damage to your vehicle when an at-fault driver is uninsured. The limit is $3,500. This type of coverage only applies if the uninsured driver is identified.
Be sure to check the terms of your existing policy if you aren’t sure whether you have this coverage.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) covers costs for bodily injury when the at-fault party’s insurance is insufficient to cover your losses.
Personal Injury Lawsuit
If the at-fault driver does not have insurance, you could consider suing them to seek compensation for the losses you have suffered. However, if the driver did not have insurance, they may not have adequate resources that can be attached to a potential judgment. Your lawyer can help determine if it is worth the hassle to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against the uninsured driver.
Claims Against Other Parties
Even if the party who is primarily responsible for the accident is not insured, there may be other parties who may share in the liability, such as:
- The owner of the vehicle if that is not the person who was driving
- An employer if the at-fault driver was working at the time of the accident
- A product manufacturer if a defective vehicle or auto part contributed to the accident
- A negligent third driver who contributed to the accident
- The governmental agency responsible for maintaining the roadway if a defective traffic control device or dangerous roadway design contributed to the accident
An experienced lawyer can help determine all potentially liable parties and avenues for compensation.
Contact Our Vista Car Accident Lawyers for Help With Your Uninsured Motorist Claim
If you were hurt by a negligent and uninsured driver, Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers can help determine who is at fault for the accident and what compensation you can recover. Contact our firm online or give us a call to speak with an experienced Vista uninsured motorist claim attorney.
Other Common Auto Accident Cases We Handle
At Petrov Personal Injury Lawyers, we handle all types of car accident cases involving:
- Distracted driving
- DUI accidents
- Hit and Run accidents
- Intersection crashes
- Rear-end accidents
- Red and yellow light accidents
- And more